Three Becomes Latest UK Mobile Operator to Bring Back EU Roaming Charges

Three is the latest UK network to introduce EU roaming fees. This is another setback for customers who travel abroad.

Customers who upgrade or are new to roam within EU countries will be charged a flat 2 per day fee. These changes won't take effect until May 23, 2022.

This operator joins Vodafone and EE who recently announced the return to roaming fees. O2 will offer roaming free in the EU and the USA, but it will only be available on certain "Plus Plans" that are an additional add-on.

Mobile customers didn't have roaming fees before the U.K. left the European Union. Most phone tariffs count calls, texts and data in EU countries as the same as domestic use.

However, the EU trade agreement was signed December 2020. Mobile operators were once more able to charge customers for travel in Europe, with transparent and reasonable rates.

Originally, O2, Three and Vodafone, the three largest mobile operators in the U.K. stated that they did not plan to reintroduce roaming fees after Brexit. However, all have announced changes, some under a "fair usage" clause.