Davis Cup Finals: Great Britain name Norrie, Evans, Salisbury & Skupski in team

Last update on. From the section Tennis
Great Britain lost to Spain in 2019's semi-finals. Dan Evans, Jamie Murray and Kyle Edmund steered them to the final four. Captain Leon Smith was the captain.

After being selected in an initial four-man team, Cameron Norrie, the new British number one will be leading the bid for the country to win the Davis Cup Finals.

Dan Evans is the second singles player. Joe Salisbury, Neal Skupski and Neal Skupski are also included.

Andy Murray said he will skip the event to rest, so that he can "take a breath". A fifth player will be confirmed later.

The Davis Cup Finals features 18 countries and begins on 25 November. It ends in the finals on 5 December.

Great Britain will play in Innsbruck against France and the Czech Republic in their group matches on 27 November.

26-year-old Norrie became the British men's number 1 - and rose to the top 15 in the world after winning the Indian Wells title earlier in the month.

Britain's Davis Cup captain Leon Smith stated that his four first picks were his best and would bring strong qualities to the team.

"A fifth player will also be confirmed within the next few weeks. We are looking forward to returning to the finals this year after missing it in 2020."

Murray, a former world number one, said earlier this month that he wasn't sure he "deserves" to be in that team.

Britain will be in Vienna for the quarter-final tie on November 30th if they win the group.

They may also be eligible to be a best runner up. This tie would be played at Madrid where the semi-finals will take place between 3-5 December.

Since the original event, which was held in Madrid, Spain, in 2019, the format has changed. The event now takes place over seven days.

Although Britain lost to eventual champions Spain in the semi-finals, Smith's team was guaranteed a spot in the next edition.

The coronavirus pandemic caused the cancellation of last year's tournament. This year, the same 18 countries will be participating.