MotoGP: Yamaha's Fabio Quartararo becomes first Frenchman to win title

Last update on. From the section Motorsport
In his third season of MotoGP, Quartararo won a world title

After finishing fourth at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, Yamaha's Fabio Quitararo won the MotoGP title.

After Francesco Bagnaia, Ducati's closest competitor, crashed in Italy, the 22-year-old won the title.

Italy's Bagnaia led the race when he got off his bike with just five laps remaining. Honda's Marc Marquez won.

Quartararo, who began the race 15th on grid, said "It's incredible, right now it's living the dream."

"It feels great to have my family here with me, and we will enjoy tonight as well as the rest of the season."

Spanish rider Pol Espargaro came in second, with Enea Bastianini coming in third.

These nine titles were won by Spanish riders. Marquez won six of them, Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo took the title in 2015 and 2012, and Suzuki's Joan Mir took the title in 2020.

"Today isn't my day, it is Fabio's." Marquez, who won his third win of the season, said that he wanted to congratulate him.

"He had an amazing season. Congratulations to Yamaha, we will make it difficult next year.

Quartararo is currently competing in his third MotoGP season. He leads the world championship standings with 65 points. Bagnaia has two races remaining.

Emilia Romagna Grand Prix

1. Marc Marquez (Spa) Honda 41mins 52.830secs

2. Pol Espargaro (Spa) Honda +4.859secs

3. Enea Bastianini (Ita) Ducati +12.013

4. Fabio Quartararo (Fra) Yamaha +12.775

5. Johann Zarco (Fra) Ducati +16.458

6. Alex Rins (Spa) Suzuki +17.669

7. Aleix Espargaro (Spa) Aprilia +18.468

8. Maverick Vinales (Spa) Yamaha +18.607

9. Luca Marnini (Ita) Ducati +25.417

10. Valentino Rossi (Ita/Yamaha) +27.735

Standings for the World Championship

1. Fabio Quartararo (Fra) Yamaha 267pts

2. Francesco Bagnaia (Ita) Ducati 202

3. Joan Mir (Spa), Suzuki 175

4. Johann Zarco (Fra) Ducati 152

5. Jack Miller (Aust) Ducati 149