Ballon d'Or: Jorginho, Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski among nominees for award

Last update on.From section Football
Messi (left), Lewandowski and Jorginho make up the 30-man list for men's Ballon d'Or

The shortlist for the men's Ballon d'Or award is comprised of Jorginho from Chelsea, Lionel Messi from Paris St-Germain and Robert Lewandowski from Bayern Munich.

For the sixth consecutive year, Messi won the 2019 race.

When he was able to help Argentina win the 2021 Copa America, the forward won his first major international title.

Jorginho, a midfielder from Italy, helped Chelsea win the Champions League last year before winning at Euro 2020 with his nation.

Lewandowski, a Polish striker, won the 2020-21 European Golden Shoe after scoring 41 Bundesliga goals for Bayern Munich. He also won the German league title last year.

There are 14 Premier League stars on the 2021 30-man shortlist, and five Italian Championship-winning players.

France Football awards the Ballon d'Or each year to the best footballer in the world.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the prize was not awarded in 2020.

The award's winner will be announced at Paris' Theatre du Chatelet on 29 November.

England's Jude Bellingham (Borussia Borussia Dortmund), Mason Greenwood, (Manchester United), and Bakayo Saka(Arsenal), are among the 10 nominees to the Kopa Trophy. This award is for players younger than 21.

The Yashin Trophy goes to the best goalkeeper. There are four Premier League players on this 10-man shortlist: Chelsea and Senegal's Edouard Mendy; Manchester City's Brazilian Ederson; Chelsea and Senegal’s Edouard Mendy; Leicester City's Kasper Scheichel of Denmark; and Emiliano Martinez, Argentine, from Aston Villa.

Ballon d'Or nominees

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, Spain)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, Italy)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus, Italy)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG, Italy)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, Portugal)

Phil Foden (Manchester City, England)

Erling Braut haaland (Borussia Dortmund Norway, Norway)

Jorginho (Chelsea/Italy)

Harry Kane (Tottenham England)

N'Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)

Simon Kjaer (AC Milan, Denmark)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, Belgium)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City, Algeria)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)

Kylian Mbappe, PSG, France

Lionel Messi (PSG, Argentina)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal, Spain)

Mason Mount (Chelsea in England)

Neymar (PSG, Brazil)

Pedri (Barcelona Spain, Spain).

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Portugal)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City, England)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay)

What is the Ballon d'Or, you ask?

Since 1956, France Football has awarded the Ballon d'Or every year. The first winner was Stanley Matthews from England.

It was restricted to European players only until 1995. In 1995 it opened up to all European clubs. It was opened to all players from the rest of the globe in 2007.

The French magazine's editorial staff compiles the 30-man list of nominations. Journalists from all over the globe vote for the winner, with one representative per country.

It merged with Fifa's Awards from 2010 to 2015. However, they separated and the world governing body established its own Awards in 2016.

Click here to vote if you're viewing this page via the BBC News app.