Laver Cup: Team Europe dominate to win trophy for fourth consecutive time

Last update on. From the section Tennis
This was the fourth edition the Laver Cup

Europe won the Laver Cup fourth time in succession as Andrey Rublev, Alexander Zverev and Denis Shapovalov beat Reilly Opelka & Denis Shapovalov to win the doubles. This was a dominating 14-1 victory.

After winning four matches against Team World on Saturday, Team Europe needed one more win Sunday.

It was Germany's Olympic champion Zverev who beat Russia's Rublev 6-2 6-7 (4-7-4-7) 10-3.

Europe won the 2018 (Chicago), 2019 (Geneva) and 2017 (Prague editions, respectively.

Six of Europe's top players will take on six from around the globe in the Laver Cup. It lasts three days and includes three singles matches and one doubles match.

Each match wins is worth 1 point on Friday, 2 points Saturday and 3 points Sunday. The trophy will be won by the team with the most points, the 13th.

Europe was always a favourite to retain their trophy. They came into the tournament with six world's top-10 players in Daniil Medvedev (2) and Stefanos Tsitsipas (3), Zverev (4), Rublev (5) and Matteo Berretini (7), and Casper Ruud (10). Canada's Felix Auger Aliassime was the highest-ranked player on Team World at number 11.

Zverev stated that the final score was 14-1. However, it could have been either way a lot of times," Zverev said during an interview on court.

"We put in a lot of effort throughout the week to win this victory. This team is amazing. We all came closer together, and I'm looking forward to London next year.