Scotland: Zander Clark, Liam Kelly & Lewis Ferguson called up for World Cup qualifiers

Last update on.From section Scotland
Zander Clark, the goalkeeper at St Johnstone, has been replaced by Liam Kelly from Motherwell. Lewis Ferguson, the Aberdeen midfielder, was also named in the Scotland squad.

Kelly, 25, is an experienced squad member who has never won a cap. However, Clark, 29, receives his first summons, while Ferguson, 21, receives his debut call-up.

The duo of goalkeepers replace David Marshall & Jon McLaughlin in Steve Clarke’s 26-man pool to play matches against Denmark, Moldova, and Austria.

McLaughlin and Marshall were both part of the Euro 2020 squad. However, the former number one has fallen from favour at Derby County. The latter has been used sparingly again by Rangers this year.

This means that Craig Gordon of Hearts will likely be Scotland's first goalkeeper in the upcoming games.

Scott McTominay, Manchester United's midfielder, has been injured and Kenny McLean, the Norwich City counterpart, has returned after missing the Euros.

John Fleck, Sheffield United's representative of Scotland at the finals, was the only absentee.

After three games, Scotland is currently in second place in Group F. They are four points behind leaders Denmark.

Clarke's contract extension has been confirmed until the end in the Euro 2024 campaign. Ex-Hearts coach Austin MacPhee, ex-Rangers goalkeeper Chris Woods, have also joined his backroom team.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Zander Carter (St. Johnstone), Craig Gordon, Heart of Midlothian), Liam Kelly.

Defenders: Declan Gallagher, Grant Hanley, Jack Hendry (Oostende), Jack Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Cooper (Aberdeen), Grant Hanley(Norwich City), Jack Hendry [Oostende], Jack Hendry] Scott McKenna (“Nottingham Forest”) Stephen O'Donnell (“Motherwell”) Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andy Robertson “Liverpool”) Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Terney (Arsenal), Kieran Tierney“

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong, Lewis Ferguson (Aberdeen), Billy Gilmour(Norwich City), John McGinn (“Aston Villa”) Callum McGregor “Celtic”, Kenny McLean (“Norwich City”) David Turnbull (Celtic).

Forwards: Che Adam (Southampton), Ryan Christie, Lyndon Dykes(Queen's Park Rangers), Ryan Fraser [Newcastle United], James Forrest (Celtic), Kevin Nisbet (“Hibernian”)