Le Mans 24: Toyota win endurance race for for fourth successive year

Last update on.
Mike Conway, a Briton, was one of three drivers in the Toyota car that won.

Toyota continued their dominance in the 24-hour Le Mans race, securing victory for the fourth consecutive year.

Two hypercars made by Japanese companies finished first and second at Sarthe Circuit.

Britain's Mike Conway, Japan’s Kamui Kbayashi and Argentina’s Jose Maria Lopez were two laps ahead in the number seven G10 car.

The number eight car, the winner of the race the last three years, came in second.

Kazuki Nakajima and Sebastien Buemi shared driving the second car.

The winner car covered 370 laps, more than 5,000 km (3,107 miles), in just 1,440 minutes. It also made 33 pit stops.

Nicolas Lapierre of France and Matthieu Viviere from Brazil completed the podium, alongside Brazilian Andre Negrao at the Alpine A480–Gibson.