Baseball Hall of Fame rejects Curt Schilling's request to be removed from 2022 ballot

In a unanimous vote, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's Board of Directors denied Curt Schilling's request that he be removed from 2022 Baseball Writers Association of America Hall of Fame ballot. Schilling will be eligible for the BBWAA ballot the 10th and last time next year. Schilling, who was a six-time All-Star in 20 seasons with the Baltimore Orioles (Houston Astros), Philadelphia Phillies (Phillies), Arizona Diamondbacks (Boston Red Sox), and Philadelphia Phillies (Phillies), was the top vote-getter when no one was elected earlier this year. He was named on 71.1%, just 16 votes short of the minimum required for selection. Schilling asked for his removal from the next year's writers' ballot in a long letter to the Hall, which he also posted on Facebook in January. "I won't vote in the last year of voting. I request to be removed from this year's ballot. Schilling stated that he would defer to veterans committee members and men who actually care and are in a position of judging a player. "I don’t believe I’m a hall-of-famer, as I’ve stated many times. But if former players think that I am, then I’ll accept it with honor." In January, the BBWAA recommended that Schilling be kept on the Hall of Fame's ballot. Schilling's vote share had increased from 45% in 2017 and to 71.1% earlier this year. Most players who reach 70% are able to get enough support to land at Cooperstown. Schilling appears to have been under attack from social media and the public for his comments. Thursday also saw Hall of Famers Ken Griffey Jr. and Craig Biggio elected to the Hall of Fame’s 17-member board of director. Chairman Jane Forbes Clark stated in a statement that "they have all shown their continued commitment to baseball" Their vision will guide the Museum towards the future. Griffey, who tallied 630 home runs in 22 seasons with the Mariners and Reds, was elected to The Hall of Fame in 2016. After a 20-year career with the Astros, Biggio was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2015. Glavine, who was a two-time Cy Young Award Winner and won 305 games with the Braves, Mets, and 22 major league seasons, was elected to office in 2014. This report was contributed by The Associated Press.


Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *