After memorable regular season for Edmonton Oilers, Connor McDavid wins Hart Trophy unanimously as NHL's MVP

Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers' star, won the Hart Trophy for NHL's MVP. He is only the second person to win the award in its 97-year history.McDavid was the first to vote on 100 ballots of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. In 1981-82, Wayne Gretzky was the only person to win the Hart unanimously, and that was also with the Oilers.Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs' center, earned 69 second place votes. He was second overall in the voting following McDavid. Third was Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche's center. McDavid was also awarded the Ted Lindsay Award for the NHLPA's best player. The Lindsay was also awarded to Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins' center, and Matthews.McDavid was the NHL's leading scorer with 105 points through 56 games. His average of 1.88 points per match was 22nd in NHL history, and it was higher than Mario Lemieux's 2.30 point per game average in 1995-96. McDavid was also the NHL's leading scorer with 72 assists.It was McDavid's second Hart Trophy win and third Lindsay Award win. He also won his third NHL scoring title. McDavid's Hart Trophy victory was his second, following that of Leon Draisaitl's last season. Since the Boston Bruins' 1968-69 (Phil Esposito), and 1969-70 (19Bobby Orr) seasons, the Oilers have had different Hart Trophy winners in consecutive years. Editor's Picks Oilers Nugent-Hopkins signs an 8-year, $41M deal Greg WyshynskiKucherov leads TB1 with Gretzky, Lemieux Emily KaplanBettman contemplates Olympic break amid uncertainty Greg Wyshynski 2.Marc-Andre Fleury, Vegas Golden Knights goalie, won the Vezina Trophy for NHL's top goalie in other awards voting. After 17 seasons of playing in the NHL, Fleury was nominated for this award for the first time. He was on 31 of 31 ballots, and he received 14 first-place choices from the NHL's general mangers. They vote on the award.Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning, who was nominated four times for the award and won the Vezina for 2019, came in second, only 10 points behind Fleury. Philipp Grubauer, Colorado Avalanche goalie, was third.Fleury shared the Jennings Trophy after Vegas allowed the most goals. "But I love the game. You have a lot passion. "I'm fortunate to do what I love."New York Rangers defenseman Adam Fox won the Norris Trophy for NHL's best defenceman. He finished ahead of Cale Makar (Colorado Avalanche) and Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay Lightning), who were nominated for the fifth consecutive year. Fox was included on 99 of 100 ballots. This includes 40 first-place selections. Makar was the top pick of 31 voters.Fox is the second NHL defenseman to win the Norris. Orr won the award in 1967-68 for the Boston Bruins. Fox was playing in his second NHL season with the Rangers. Fox, 23, was first among defensemen for assists (42) as well as points (47).Kirill Kaprizov, a Minnesota Wild winger, won rookie of the Year honors over Jason Robertson, a Dallas Stars forward, and Alex Nedeljkovic (a Carolina goalie). The Minnesota winger scored 51 points in 55 games, scoring 27 goals.His candidacy was controversial because of his age (24), and six years playing in Russia's Kontinental Hockey League. He also had to contend with his lack of experience before entering the NHL. However, Kaprizov won almost unanimously. He received 99 first-place votes and one selection of second choice. Since 1992-93 when Teemu Selanne, Winnipeg Jets forward, was the top choice on all 50 Calder ballots, Kaprizov has received the highest percentage of first place votes in Calder balloting.Prior to Tuesday's broadcast, the NHL had previously announced several awards. Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers' center, won the Selke Trophy for best defensive forward. Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes' defenseman, won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy. Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina Hurricanes' coach of the year, won the Jack Adams Award, while Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders general manager of the season, won the Jim Gregory General Manager Award.Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins' center, won the Mark Messier NHL Leader Award. Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators goalie, was presented the King Clancy Trophy. This trophy recognizes the best example of leadership on and off the ice. Oskar Lindblom, Philadelphia Flyers forward, was awarded the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy in recognition of his perseverance and dedication to hockey.The Hart, Norris Calder, Selke, Selke, and Lady Byng awards are voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. The NHL reorganized its teams, so the PHWA has reduced its voting power to 100 members for 2020-21. This includes 20 voters per division and 20 at-large votes.