Scott Polacek@@ScottPolacekFeatured Columnist IVJanuary 5, 2023
EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ - DECEMBER 27: Darrelle Revis #24 of the New York Jets reacts in the third quarter against the New England Patriots during their game at MetLife Stadium on December 27, 2015 in East Rutherford, New Jersey. (Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images)Al Bello/Getty Images

The 15 modern-era players are one step away from being in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The previous list of 28 semifinalists was used to pick the 15 modern-era finalist.

The five players who reached the semifinalist stage in their first year of eligibility were listed on the website.

The players who advanced to the next stage are shown.

  • Darrelle Revis, CB
  • Joe Thomas, OT
  • Willie Anderson, OT
  • Torry Holt, WR
  • Reggie Wayne, WR
  • Andre Johnson, WR
  • Jared Allen, DE
  • DeMarcus Ware, LB
  • Dwight Freeney, DE
  • Albert Lewis, CB
  • Ronde Barber, CB
  • Devin Hester, KR/PR/WR
  • Zach Thomas, LB
  • Patrick Willis, LB
  • Darren Woodson, S

Revis, Thomas and Freeney are finaliists.

Revis has a resume that includes a Super Bowl title, seven Pro Bowl nods and four All-Pro selections. He was one of the best offensive linemen of his era and was a 10-time Pro Bowler.

One step closer to Canton, Ohio, as well as after a career that included a Super Bowl title, seven Pro Bowls, three All-Pro selections and 125.5 sacks, Freeney is the type of game-changing pass-rusher Thomas was tasked with blocking.

Darrelle Revis, Dwight Freeney Headline 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists✨ Watch more top videos, highlights, and B/R original content

It remains to be seen how many of these modern-era players will be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2023 class, as there is no exact number of players required to be selected in a given year.

The Super Bowl LVII class will be chosen by a 49 person selection committee.