Benzema won the Ballon d'Or for 2022.

He scored 44 goals in 46 matches last season as Real won the European and LaLiga titles.

Benzema became the first Frenchman to win the Ballon D'Or since 1998 when he was presented with the award by Real Madrid's Zinedine Zidane.

Stanley Matthews won the first edition of the Ballon D'Or in 1957.

Madrid, Spain; 08.01.2022.- Real Madrid vs Valencia Football Soccer to La Liga Spain match 20 2021-2022 held at Santiago Bernabeu, Madrid. Real Madrid player Real Madrid player Karim Benzema score goal. Photo by: Juan Carlos Rojas/picture-alliance/dpa/AP Images
Image: Benzema's goals helped Real Madrid win the Champions League last season

Benzema said it made him proud. I didn't give up on the work I did. It was a dream as a child. I had two reasons for being in this world. I have a dream in my head that everything is possible.

I worked hard even though I wasn't in the French team. I was focused on playing football and I'm proud of my journey here. It was a tough time. It wasn't easy for my family. For the first time in my life, I am happy with my work and I keep going.


I want to say thank you to my team-mates. My coach was also thanked by him. Real Madrid's president as well.

There are a lot of people that I owe a lot of gratitude to. Everyone has played a role in the prize.

The highest ranked player in England at the moment is De Bruyne.

Mohamed Salah celebrates his goal against Man City
Image: Liverpool's Mohamed Salah finished in fifth place

The lowest position the Manchester United forward has been ranked in since 2005 was 20th in the Ballon D'Or honours board.

Real Madrid's Vinicius Junior was voted the best player, followed by Kylian Mbappe of Paris Saint-Germain.

Manchester City forward Erling Haaland finished in 10th place, just one place ahead of Heung-Min Son and two over current club team-mate Ryoko.

If you want a more accessible video player, please use the chrome browser.

Esteban Ocon
Esteban Ocon delivered the Ballon d'Or trophy in his Formula One car as the world's best football stars walked the red carpet of the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.

Trent Alexander-Arnold and Darwin Nunez made up the rest of the 25-man list.

Manchester City's Phil Foden, left, celebrates with Manchester City's Erling Haaland after scores a disallowed goal during the English Premier League soccer match between Liverpool and Manchester City at Anfield stadium in Liverpool, Sunday, Oct. 16, 2022. (AP Photo/Jon Super)
Image: Manchester City were named Club of the Year

Putellas won the women's award after guiding Barcelona to the Spanish title with a 100 percent points total.

Manchester City were named Club of the Year at the Paris ceremony after winning their fourth league title in five years.

"We haven't won the trophy yet, but we are proud of how we play as a team," said De Bruyne, who picked up the award.

The Kopa trophy was awarded to the best player under the age of 21 and was won by Barcelona's Gavi.

Jude Bellingham (left) and Bukayo Saka were nominated for the Kopa young player trophy
Image: Jude Bellingham (left) and Bukayo Saka were nominated for the Kopa young player trophy

The first Socrates award was given to a former footballer for giving back to his home country.

"I'm happy to do what I can to help my people and make the world a better place."

The Gerd Muller award, which is given to the best strikers, was given to Robert Lewandowski, who scored 50 goals in 46 matches for FCB last year.

Real Madrid's goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois celebrates after the Champions League final soccer match between Liverpool and Real Madrid at the Stade de France in Saint Denis near Paris, Saturday, May 28, 2022. Real won 1-0. (AP Photo/Petr David Josek)
Image: Real Madrid's goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the Yashin Trophy

The most coveted club prize in European football was won by Real Madrid's Thibaut Courtois after his man-of-the-game performance in the final of the European Championship.

Alisson was ranked as the second-best goalkeeper, behind Ederson.

I would like to thank my teammates. Belgian goalkeeper Courtois won the trophy with the other goalkeepers and the female ones too. The next trophy is the World Cup.

1st person is Karim Benzema.

The 2nd is Sadio Mane.

The 3rd is Kevin De Bruyne.

The 4th is Robert Lewandowski.

The 5th is about Mohamed Salah.

KylianMbappe is from Paris Saint-Germain.

Thibaut Courtois is from Belgium.

Vinicius Junior is from Brazil.

Luka Modric is from Croatia.

The 10th is Erling Haaland.

The 11th is Heung- Min Son.

RIYAD MAHRE is fromManchester City and Algeria.

Sebastian Haller is an Ajax player.

Fabinho is from Brazil and he is a member of the joint 14th.

Van Dijk is from the Netherlands and is a defender for the English club.

Luis Diaz, Casemiro, and Dusan Vlahovich are joint 17th.

The 20th will be the day that the Manchester United and Portugal player is crowned the world's greatest player.

Trent Alexander-Arnold and Phil Foden are joint 22nd.

Joint 25th are Darwin Nunez, Christopher Nkunku, Joao Cancelo, Antonio Rudiger, Mike Maignan, and Joshua Kimmiche.