In the wake of the Supreme Court's decision, some of the abortion ban in the US took effect on Thursday.

Abortion rights protest bans off our bodies sign

There is an abortion rights protester in Pennsylvania.

SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images

Following the Supreme Court's decision, Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and other states have enacted abortion ban laws.

A federal judge limited the law in response to a lawsuit from the Biden Administration, requiring abortions to be allowed in the case of medical emergencies that are not life threatening as federal law requires.

Trigger laws in Utah and Wyoming have been blocked by the courts while litigation continues, but have since been allowed to take effect.

Unless a court blocks the law again, the law will take effect on Friday.

Alabama, Ohio, Georgia, South Carolina, Florida, and Ohio and Georgia all have laws that ban abortion at six weeks into a pregnant woman's life.

In Wisconsin, Arizona, West Virginia, and Michigan, abortion is still banned, even though the legal status of the procedure remains unclear.

PLAY Forbes Business AEW Dynamite Results: Jon Moxley Destroys CM Punk On August 24, 2022 Read More As Drink Trends Come And Go, Soda Persists Read More Idaho Abortion Ban Restricted In Court As Judge Sides With Biden Administration Read More Read More Chet Holmgren Injury Doesn’t Come At Major Cost Of Thunder Season Read More John McEnroe: U.S. Open Would Be A ‘Joke’ Without Novak Djokovic Read More 1/1 Skip Ad Continue watching after the ad Loading PodsVisit Advertiser websiteGO TO PAGE AEW Dynamite Results: Jon Moxley Destroys CM Punk On August 24, 2022

There are more abortion laws to be implemented. The legislature became the first in the country to pass a new abortion ban after the Supreme Court ruled in favor of abortion rights. The court hasn't yet ruled on whether to re-impose the six-week abortion ban.

Surprising Fact

Oklahoma has a separate abortion ban that went into effect on Thursday. Providers who perform abortions can be charged with a felony and face up to 10 years in prison if they are found guilty.


Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New

Key Background

On June 24, the Supreme Court gave states the power to ban abortion and set off a wave of similar laws across the country. Most trigger laws make performing an abortion a felony, but they don't target the person who gets the abortion. With abortion no longer protected under federal law,trigger laws and other abortion bans have become the subject of legal scrutiny in state courts, as abortion providers have filed a number of lawsuits challenging the statutes under state constitutions. The Supreme Court's ruling has led to widespread reports of pregnant people and other Americans being denied medical care or medications and facing barriers to access as a result of the ban on abortions.

In these states, abortion is no longer allowed. Where laws have changed? The Washington Post has an article about it.

The judge rules that the Georgia abortion ban must stay in effect.

This is when states will start banning abortion.