The Correct Ranking of the Presidential Candidates’ Song Choices at the Iowa Democrats’ Hall of Fame Event



  1. This Passage From Hope Hicks’ Testimony Crystallizes the Inanity of Democrats’ Impeachment Stance
  2. t

  3. Brett Kavanaugh’s Latest Opinion Protects Black Defendants Against Racist Prosecutors
  4. t

  5. The Supreme Court’s Conservatives Are Ready to Take a Wrecking Ball to the Entire Federal Bureaucracy
  6. t

  7. “Hey U Up”: Sean Hannity’s Desperate, Longing Texts to Paul Manafort

Nineteen of the Democratic candidates for president gathered for a dinner in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, on Sunday to pitch themselves to party heavyweights in the Hawkeye State. Each politician had just five minutes to speak-enough for an elevator pitch and a zinger or two. (Sen. Amy Klobuchar: “I can see Iowa from my porch.”) Fortunately, Iowans were offered another important data point by which they might judge these presidential bids: the candidates’ walk-on music.

Here is the walk-out song playlist for the candidates at the Iowa Democrats Hall of Fame campaign yesterday. The songs were chosen by the campaigns.

– Lissandra Villa (@LissandraVilla) June 10, 2019

Who won the first contest of the 2020 Music Primary? Based on our criteria-points for relevance and quality, demerits for obviousness and/or lameness-the top prize goes to Sen. Elizabeth Warren, whose selection of Dolly Parton’s country-pop classic “9 to 5” works perfectly with her detail-steeped platform for leveling the economic playing field. Klobuchar takes second place for boosting a lesser-known artist from her home state. John Hickenlooper should try harder.

Here is the correct order of every candidate’s song selection. Pour yourself a cup of ambition and debate me.

1. Elizabeth Warren: Dolly Parton, “9 to 5”

2. Amy Klobuchar: Dessa, “The Bullpen”

3. Marianne Williamson: Stevie Wonder, “Higher Ground”*

4. Cory Booker: Bill Withers, “Lovely Day”

5. Bernie Sanders: John Lennon, “Power to the People”

6. Kirsten Gillibrand: Lizzo, “Good as Hell”

7. Andrew Yang: Mark Morrison, “Return of the Mack”

8. John Delaney: Johnny Cash, “I’ve Been Everywhere”

9. Kamala Harris: Mary J. Blige, “Work That”

10. Jay Inslee: Electric Light Orchestra, “Mr. Blue Sky”

11. Tim Ryan: Lil Nas X, “Old Town Road”

12. Tulsi Gabbard: Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell, “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”

13. Pete Buttigieg: Batchelor, “Never Giving Up”

14. Beto O’Rourke: The Clash, “Clampdown”

15. Bill ” I love ska ” de Blasio: The Clash, “Rudie Can’t Fail”

16. Eric Swalwell: Rodney Atkins, “Caught Up in the Country”

17. Michael Bennet: Bruce Springsteen, “The Rising”*

18. Steve Bullock: John Mellencamp, “Small Town”

19. John Hickenlooper: OneRepublic, “Good Life”

Correction, June 10, 2019: This post originally misspelled Stevie Wonder as Steve Wonder. It also misidentified Michael Bennet as Bill Bennet.