Here Are The Senators Who Will Not Accept Salary During Shutdown


Some members of the U.S. Senate are choosing to either go without pay or donate their salary for the duration of the government shutdown.

The government ran out of funding early Saturday morning, and while operations will remain fairly normal over the weekend, many federal employees will be furloughed come Monday if Congress fails to reach a funding deal.

Congress failed to strike a deal that would fund the government due to Democrats’ insistence that the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program, which protects illegal immigrants brought to the U.S. as children, be extended.

WATCH: Democrats Dodge Blame For Government Shutdown

It’s unclear how long the current shutdown will last. By law, members of Congress and the president continue to be paid during government shutdowns – though President Donald Trump already donates his salary to charity. Most members of Congress receive $174,000 annually, but minority and majority leaders in both chambers, and the President of the Senate get $193,400 each, and the speaker of the House gets $223,500.

During the 16-day shut down in 2013, around 250 members of the House and Senate either donated their salary to charity, refused it, or asked that their pay be withheld, according to The Washington Post.

The Daily Caller News Foundation asked each member of the Senate whether they will forgo their salary for however long the shutdown lasts. Here are all the Senators who have promised to go without pay so far (this post will be updated):

Sen. Bob Corker, Republican from Tennessee: Sen. Corker began donating his salary to charity when he first entered the Senate in 2007, and will continue to do so until he retires at the end of his current term.

Sen. John Hoeven, Republican from North Dakota: He “will donate his salary for the duration of the shutdown to charity” as he did in 2013, a spokeswoman told TheDCNF.

Sen. Debbie Stabenow, Democrat from Michigan: “She will donate her salary for every day a shutdown occurs and she is cosponsoring the No Government No Pay Act of 2018 to withhold the pay of Members of Congress during a shutdown,” a spokesman told TheDCNF.

Sen. Elizabeth Warren, Democrat from Massachusetts: She will donate her salary to charity, according to her office.

Follow Thomas Phippen on Twitter Send tips to [email protected]

The Daily Caller News Foundation is working hard to balance out the biased American media. Freedom of Speech Isn’t Free
For as little as $3, you can help us. Make a one-time donation to support the quality, independent journalism of TheDCNF. We’re not dependent on commercial or political support and we do not accept any government funding.

Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact [email protected] .