How to delete your LinkedIn account, or temporarily deactivate it

The Settings & Privacy page allows you to delete your LinkedIn account. LinkedIn will delete your account within seven days after you have deleted it. Your public LinkedIn profile might still be visible to search engines until caches have been refreshed. For more stories, visit Insider's Tech Reference Library. Loading... Click to sign up for Insider marketing emails. You also agree to receive partner offers. LinkedIn is different from other social media sites. LinkedIn encourages you to share curated photos of your life or scroll through random memes. Instead, it is about professional networking for those who are passionate about their career. LinkedIn is not for everyone. You may decide to stop using it later. You will need to learn how to delete your LinkedIn account completely if that is the case. This article will show you how to delete your LinkedIn profile or "hibernate" it temporarily. How to delete your LinkedIn profile 1. Log in to LinkedIn with your username & password 2. After logging in, click the Me option. It is located just below your profile picture in the menu bar at top of screen. 3. Click Settings & Privacy in the drop-down menu. Select "Settings & Privacy" from the "Me” drop-down. Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider 4. Click the Account preferences tab in the menu at the top of the screen. Select Account management from the submenu. Under "Account preferences," select "Account management." Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider 5. Click Change next to Close Account in the Account Management section. Click "Change" beside "Close account." Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider Quick tip: You can temporarily deactivate your account by choosing the Hibernate option if you are not ready to delete it completely. 6. You will be asked to confirm that you wish to close your account and to explain why. To share any additional comments or concerns with LinkedIn, you can also complete a feedback form. After you are done, click Next. Notice: Premium members will need to change to Basic before they can close their account. 7. To complete the deletion, you will be asked to enter your password again. Complete this information and click on Close account. Enter your password, and click "Close account." Jennifer Still/Insider What happens when you delete your LinkedIn profile? LinkedIn takes up to seven business days to delete all of your data from its servers. All your profile and contacts information will be deleted as soon as your account is deleted. If you do decide to go back to LinkedIn in the future, you will need to create a new profile and rebuild your connections and endorsements. However, you may still be able see your LinkedIn account even after seven days. Search engines update more slowly than individual websites. Give it a few weeks and search engines will clear their caches and update the results. LinkedIn allows you to download a copy before deletion if you wish to keep any information after closing your account.

0 Comments

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0 comments