Many people have been requesting features in the Messages app for a long time, and with the new features in the Messages app, Apple is giving them a chance. There are many Messages features that are cross- platform in this guide.
You can make changes to an iMessage after it's been sent. You just long press on the message that you want to fix, add your edits, and then press the blue checkmark to send.
There are some things to be aware of. Both people need to have an Apple device for it to work. Messages will be repeated for people who aren't running the operating system.
To use the message editing feature, participants need to be using Apple's latest updates, includingiOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS Ventura.
When receiving an edited iMessage, people who are running an earlier operating system will see text that says "Edited to Text".
The person on the other end of the phone won't know what changed because the Messages app doesn't have a history of it.
The undo send feature can be used if you change your mind after sending an iMessage. Up to 15 minutes after you send it, you can un send it.
You need to be aware of the limitations of unsending. If you use the undo send feature on a message, it will not work and the message will not be received.
Even though it will disappear from your phone, the person on the other side won't notice. It will say the following if someone is running an older version of the software.
You didn't send a message. Person may be able to see your message on older versions of the device.
Participants need to be using watchOS 9 on their devices, as the feature does not work on text messages.
The blue dot on the unread feature is to remind you to come back to it.
If you get a message and don't have time to read it or address it in the moment, you can mark it as unread, which will keep it as a new message on the Messages app.
Press on the conversation and then tap on the "Mark as Unread" option to mark a thread as unread.
The "Recently deleted" section in the Messages app is where you can find all of the deleted texts. You can recover a message if you accidentally deleted it.
If you want to deal with all of the messages at once, you can either select an individual message or choose to recover it.
SharePlay, the feature that lets you use apps, watch TV, listen to music, and more with friends and family over the phone, has been added to the Messages app. You can start a SharePlay session with the Messages app if you choose.
The same content can be seen and discussed by the participants in the Share Play experience. It's useful for collaborating on various apps, playing games, working out, talking about TV shows and movies, and nearly every other Share Play interaction. You can choose which method of communication you prefer with SharePlay's compatibility with both Messages and FaceTime.
The new feature is called collaboration. Sending an invite to collaborate through Messages will allow you to work together with colleagues, friends, or family.
Messages will be updated when a project is edited in the app. Messages or FaceTime can be used to initiate a collaboration.
The built-in "Report Junk" feature in the Messages app will now allow users to report junk messages to certain carriers in the US.
The "Report Junk" option is available in the Unknown senders section of the Messages app. You can report a message as junk if you use this option.
The option to report messages to both Apple and carriers has not been available before.
Apple wants developers to be able to create a section in their apps called Shared with You, which will aggregate app content from friends into that app. You might be able to see a friend's listing in the shared with you section of the Zillow app.
The opt-in for third-party apps is an expansion of the shared with you function that Apple introduced in the latest version of its operating system. You don't have to miss out on your friends' content if you use shared with you.
Third-party apps can take advantage of the new Collaboration feature that allows users to communicate in the Messages app while working together in another app by using the Messages CollaborationAPI.
If you have questions about the Messages app, know of a feature we left out, or want to give feedback on the guide, please contact us. We'd love to receive an email here.